Main Content

More exchanges with Chinese universities

Neuroscience benefits from stronger collaboration

unimr_lead_image_sd.jpg
Foto: Markus Farnung

Signed the new cooperation agreement: Professor Dr Helmut Schäfer, Professor Dr Yonghua Zhang, Professor Dr Tilo Kircher and Professor Dr Michael Bölker (from left to right).

The German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) has supported Philipps-Universität Marburg's strategic collaborations with universities in China, including Zhejiang University in Hangzhou, since 2013. A new cooperation agreement and further funding from the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) from October 2017 onwards will now intensify the collaboration in the field of neuroscience.

Cooperation agreement in the psychiatry area

On Friday, 6 October 2017, Professor Dr Michael Bölker, Vice President for Research, Young Academics and International Affairs and Professor Dr Tilo Kircher from the university's Department of Medicine signed a cooperation agreement with the Mental Health Center of Seventh People’s Hospital, a teaching hospital that belongs to Zhejiang University in Hangzhou. Particularly the research into schizophrenia, depression and bipolar disorders will benefit from the international exchange. "The Mental Health Center offers a promising environment for joint research projects," said Professor Dr Tilo Kircher during the signing of the agreement in Marburg. "For us, the partnership lays the foundations for a mutual exchange of knowledge in important clinical research areas such as schizophrenia and psychotherapy. I am delighted that we were able to put this on a firm footing today as a strategic measure together with the centre's director Yonghua Zhang," Kircher said, adding that the Mental Health Center enjoys an excellent reputation in the areas of teaching, prevention and the treatment and rehabilitation of patients with mental illnesses and therefore offered numerous starting points for the collaboration. "The new cooperation agreement is also an important milestone for the further expansion of the Marburg Center for Mind, Brain and Behavior, the MCMBB“, says Professor Dr Carsten Culmsee from the Department of Pharmacy, the MCMBB's deputy executive director. "We want to increase the international presence of our university and establish it further as a highly attractive research location," Professor Dr Bölker said. "Strategic partnerships such as this one make a major contribution to this aim."

German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) funding in the neuroscience field

Besides the German-Chinese collaboration in the area of clinical psychiatry, the BMBF is also facilitating new additional professional connections in the field of neuroscience in general. The BMBF is supporting the establishment of a "Sino-German Neuroscience Network" (SGN2) with a total of 200,000 euros. The project is one of seven ideas throughout Germany the ministry is funding within the scope of its competition for the promotion of innovative concepts for Germany-wide specialist graduate work related to China.

The SGN2 was set up in order to strengthen established relationships between groups of researchers and institutes in China and Germany and to provide a database that allows researchers, research institutes, universities and business to identify partners for the initiation of joint research and development projects. In this way, the SGN2 creates a alumni network that bundles specialist knowledge from both countries across institutes and also builds a bridge between science and business. "The SGN2 will make it possible for its members to find partners and also technical resources for innovation and ground-breaking collaborations in the neuroscience field. Particularly in areas with direct healthcare research relevance such as the diagnosis of psychiatric-neurological conditions, the network will contribute considerably to increasing the joint innovation potential in our two countries," says Professor Dr Frank Bremmer, head of the university's Department of Physics and executive director of the MCMBB, who will also lead SGN2.

Also involved in the SGN2 to a considerable degree are Professor Dr Andreas K. Engel (University Medical Center Hamburg-Eppendorf), Professor Dr Brigitte Röder (Universität Hamburg), the Gießen-based Thomas Recording GmbH and renowned neuroscientists from Zhejiang University in Hangzhou, Tongji University in Shanghai and Tsinghua University Beijing, the Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing Normal University and Peking University.

Further Information:

Strategic Partnerships of the Philipps-Universität Marburg with China: http://www.uni-marburg.de/international/about/projekte/zukunft

Hauptinhalt

Mehr Austausch mit chinesischen Hochschulen

Neurowissenschaften profitieren von stärkerer Zusammenarbeit

unimr_lead_image_sd.jpg
Foto: Markus Farnung

Unterzeichneten die neue Kooperationsvereinbarung: Prof. Dr. Helmut Schäfer, Prof. Dr. Yonghua Zhang, Prof.Dr. Tilo Kircher und Prof. Dr. Michael Bölker (von links).

Seit 2013 fördert der Deutsche Akademische Austauschdienst (DAAD) die strategischen Kooperationen der Philipps-Universität Marburg mit Hochschulen in China – darunter die Zhejiang Universität in Hangzhou. Durch eine neue Kooperationsvereinbarung sowie eine weitere Förderung des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) ab Oktober 2017 wird die Zusammenarbeit nun im Bereich der Neurowissenschaften weiter intensiviert. 

Kooperationsvertrag im Bereich der Psychiatrie

Am Freitag, 6. Oktober 2017, unterzeichneten Prof. Dr. Michael Bölker, Vizepräsident für Forschung, Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses und Internationales, und Prof. Dr. Tilo Kircher vom Fachbereich Medizin, einen Kooperationsvertrag mit dem Mental Health Center des Seventh People’s Hospital, einem Lehrkrankenhaus der chinesischen Zhejiang Universität in Hangzhou. Besonders die Forschung zu Schizophrenie, Depression und Bipolaren Störungen soll vom internationalen Austausch profitieren. „Das Mental Health Center bietet ein vielversprechendes Umfeld für gemeinsame Forschungsarbeiten“, sagte Prof. Dr. Tilo Kircher bei der Vertragsunterzeichnung in Marburg. „Die Partnerschaft legt für uns den Grundstein für einen wechselseitigen Wissensaustausch in wichtigen klinischen Forschungsbereichen, wie etwa der Schizophrenie und der Psychotherapie. Ich freue mich sehr, dies heute gemeinsam mit Direktor Yonghua Zhang als strategische Maßnahme zu verankern“, sagte Kircher. Das Mental Health Center genieße eine hohe Reputation in der Lehre, bei der Prävention und bei der Behandlung und Rehabilitation von Patientinnen mit psychischen Störungen und biete somit zahlreiche Anknüpfungspunkte für die Zusammenarbeit. „Der neue Kooperationsvertrag ist auch ein wichtiger Meilenstein für den weiteren Ausbau des Marburg Center for Mind, Brain and Behavior, MCMBB“, so Prof. Dr. Carsten Culmsee, Fachbereich Pharmazie und stellvertretender Geschäftsführender Direktor des MCMBB. „Unsere Universität soll international sichtbarer werden und sich als hochattraktiver Wissenschaftsstandort weiter etablieren“, sagte Prof. Dr. Bölker. „Strategische Partnerschaften wie diese tragen einen wesentlichen Teil dazu bei.“

Förderung des BMBF im Bereich der Neurowissenschaften

Neben der deutsch-chinesischen Zusammenarbeit im Bereich der klinischen Psychiatrie ermöglicht das BMBF ab Oktober 2017 zusätzlich neue fachliche Vernetzungen im Bereich der gesamten Neurowissenschaften. Mit insgesamt 200.000 Euro fördert das Bundesministerium den Aufbau eines „Sino-German Neuroscience Network“ (SGN2). Das Projekt ist eines von bundesweit sieben geförderten Ideen im Rahmen des Wettbewerbs zur „Förderung von innovativen Konzepten zur deutschlandweiten Fach-Alumniarbeit mit Chinabezug“.

Das SGN2 soll etablierte Verbindungen zwischen Forschergruppen und Instituten in China und Deutschland stärken und eine Datenbasis bieten, durch die Forscherinnen und Forscher, Forschungsinstitute, Hochschulen sowie Wirtschaftsunternehmen Partner für die Anbahnung gemeinsamer Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekte identifizieren können. Auf diese Weise schafft das SGN2 ein Alumni-Netzwerk, das Fachwissen beider Länder institutionsübergreifend bindet und darüber hinaus eine Brücke zwischen Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft baut. „Das SGN2 wird Mitgliedern erlauben, schnell und unkompliziert Partner und auch technische Ressourcen für innovative und wegweisende Kooperationen in den Neurowissenschaften zu finden. Gerade in Gebieten mit direkter gesundheitswissenschaftlicher Relevanz, wie die Diagnose psychiatrisch-neurologischer Erkrankungen, wird das Netzwerk erheblich zur Erhöhung des gemeinsamen Innovationspotenzials unserer beiden Länder beitragen“, sagt Prof. Dr. Frank Bremmer, Fachbereich Physik und geschäftsführender Direktor des MCMBB, der auch das SGN2 leiten wird.

Am SGN2 ebenfalls maßgeblich beteiligt sind Prof. Dr. Andreas K. Engel (Universitätsklinikum Hamburg-Eppendorf), Prof. Dr. Brigitte Röder (Universität Hamburg), die Thomas Recording GmbH in Gießen sowie renommierte Neurowissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler der Zhejiang Universität in Hangzhou, der Tongji-Universität in Shanghai sowie der Tsinghua-Universität Peking, der Chinesischen Akademie der Wissenschaften, der Pädagogischen Universität Peking und der Universität Peking.

Weitere Informationen:

Strategische Partnerschaften der Philipps-Universität Marburg in China: http://www.uni-marburg.de/international/about/projekte/zukunft